Aberystwyth RFC 28-8 Talywain RFC -SWALEC Plate Round 4

Aber RFC vs TalywainON SATURDAY afternoon Talywain travelled to Plascrug to face Aberyswtwyth in the fourth Round of the WRU SWALEC Plate with both teams normally playing in WRU Division 2, Aberystwyth in the West and Talywain in the East.

Aberystwyth started well with a penalty in the first five minutes of play, slotted over by fly-half Llyr Thomas, he added a second swiftly afterwards. In between both penalty goals, Talywain set out their stall with some positive attacking play, but Colin Bridges was shown the red card by referee Justin Williams for stamping on an Aberystwyth player. Before hand, Talywain’s scrum was overpowering Aber’s but Daniel Binks, the home side’s number eight cleaned up well at times. The red card gave Aberystwyth a boost and they crossed for two tries before half-time to go into the break 18-0 up.

Talywain, despite being a man down returned from the break with some vigour continuing their attacking mentality knowing that they were in need of an outstanding display to prevent them from being knocked out. Tom Haynes in the fly-half jersey slotted a beautiful drop-goal which never looked like missing and despite his creative kicking in open play he was unable to change the final result. Aberystwyth’s scrum found its feet and Gareth Flyn’s throwing at the line-out was impeccable. Aberyswtyth added two tries before the final whistle through Barrie Thomas and Matthew Evans and the victory was secured with ten minutes to play.

Aberystwyth return to league action next Saturday, at home to Yr Hendy, who are four points above Aber in Division 2 West.

The Quarter-Final draw will be made in the coming weeks.

Aberystwyth RFC: 15. Carwyn Evans 14. Matthew Evans 13. Paul Bumford 12. Barrie Thomas 11. Steff Nutting 10. Llyr Thomas 9. Shaun Lewis 8. Daniel Binks 7. Paul Stubbs (Captain) 6. Lee Gower 5. Robbie Parry 4. Lee Evans 3. Geraint Rowlands 2. Gareth Flynn 1.Prys Lewis

Talywain RFC: 15. Adam Williams 14. Damien Smith 13. Josh Harries 12. Nathan Day 11. Ashley Bliss 10. Tom Haynes 9. Dale Nash 8. Colin Bridges 7. Kirk Needs 6. Jamie Parry 5. Lloyd Parks 4. Reece Jenkins 3. Scott Powell 2. Jamie Wilmott 1. Martin Savage

Man of the Match: Daniel Binks