Aberystwyth University torch bearers announced

Two students and one member of staff have been announced as torch bearers for the Aberystwyth stage of the Olympic torch relay on May 27th.

Shon Rowcliffe and Susanna Ditton from the Theatre, Film and Television and IGES departments respectively are the two students selected. Susanna will carry the torch through Aberystwyth, Shon shall carry it through the village of Brynhoffnant, which is near Cardigan. Qiang Shen, Head of the Department of Computer Science, is the member of staff selected for the honour.

In light of the 100th aniversary, in 2012, of the birth of Alan Turing, Mr Shen said

“…I’m so very much honoured to have been selected to carry the Olympic torch in memory of Alan Turing. I’m also very pleased to have this opportunity to celebrate the achievements of my Department and University and to inspire more young people to become tomorrow’s leaders in science and engineering.”

The Olympic Torch arrives in Aberystwyth on May 27th, having travelled from Swansea and will leave on the 28th for Bangor.

A full map of the Olympic torches route across the UK can be found here.

The Courier will be covering the Torch Relay through Aberystwyth on May 27th.