Liberal Democrats retain Ceredigion despite national collapse

AFTER a tight and sometimes controversial election campaign, Liberal Democrat incumbent Mark Williams was returned as the Member of Parliament for the Ceredigion constituency. Mark Williams

Williams beat Plaid Cymru’s Mike Parker with a reduced majority of 3067, down from 8,324 in 2010.

He is now one of only eight Liberal Democrats in the House of Commons and the only Welsh Liberal Democrat.

Turnout was 69.16%

Full Ceredigion results:

Candidate Party Votes
Mark Williams Liberal Democrats 13,414
Mike Parker Plaid Cymru 10,347
Henrietta Hensher Conservatives 4,123
Gethin James UKIP 3,829
Huw Thomas Labour 3,675
Daniel Thompson Greens 2,088


For full details and a greater look at the impact of the General Election across the UK – See the May edition of The Courier.