TimAber Sports Award Evening is held

Lewis Donnelly collecting his Sports Personality  of the Year Award. Credit Alastair Brookes

Lewis Donnelly collecting his Sports Personality of the Year Award. Credit Alastair Brookes

AT THE VIEW Holiday Park in Borth last night TimAber, the branding for the University’s sports teams, held its annual Sports Awards Evening. The first award handed out was in recognition of the club who’d bought the most Rainbow Laces, in a campaign run by the Student’s Union earlier this month; Archery received the award from Rachel Hubbard, Sports Centre Manager. Aber Archers also received £50. The #AberBoot campaign award was won by Emily Roberts, also from Archery, for her work on social media regarding the campaign.

Next up was the Welsh Language Award, won by Equestrian and presented by Tom Wolfe, the acceptance speech made in English. Netball claimed the Biggest Contribution award, after raising over £3,000 through AUNC’s naked calendar. Non-BUCS Team of the Year went to Tarannau Cheerleading, club member Abby Cooper saying that she “wasn’t prepared for this”, while BUCS Team of the Year went to Men’s Hockey 1sts, unbeaten in Western 3B, up for promotion next season, and semi-finalists in the Western Cup. Tarannau American Football came second after an unbeaten regular season, and Ladies Badminton 1sts came third.

Varsity Team of the Year went to Men’s Football, after an agonising loss to Bangor on penalty shoot-outs. Water Polo, who won their fixture 22-0 in Llandudno, came second, and Netball 1sts, who trounced their Bangor opposition 46-20 were third. The Mary Anne Award was claimed by Fresca Ryder, a member of AUNC and the Women’s Hockey Club, and another Women’s Hockey member, Siobhan Hargreaves, claimed the Gwyn Evans Award.

Future Students’ Union President, Lewis Donnelly, won Sports Personality of the Year, after representing Wales Rugby League in April. Sports Person Of the Year went to Alex Newnes from Aber Archers, Kickboxer Dan Brookers was second, and Women’s Rugby’s club captain Hayley Ellis was third. In the two most prestigious club awards, AU Tarannau American Football sweeped Most Improved Club of the Year after getting into the BUCS play-offs – the only member of TimAber to do so. Club of the Year overall went to Badminton, not only for their BUCS performance, but their commitment to their Wednesday Social League. Archery were second, and Netball 3rd.

Next up on the sporting calendar for TimAber is the Outdoor season for the Cricket club, the DIGS Aber Town Cup Final on May the 1st and then Aber 7s, held from the 2nd-3rd of May.

The list of Full University Colours Winners:

  • Morgan Nock
  • Dan Mason
  • Emily Magnus
  • Jake Baynham
  • Clare Sheperd
  • Dylan O’Kelly-Lynch
  • Shannon Fennelli
  • Siobhan Fairgreaves
  • Lauren Marks
  • Charlotte Isaac
  • Lewis Donnelly
  • Tom Wolfe
  • Olivia Radford
  • Ciesca Ryder
  • Niam Murphy
  • Leonie Mahon
  • Kelly Keat
  • Ruby Milne
  • Amelia Farmer
  • Dan Pugh
  • Kayleigh Bayliss
  • Emma Pestridge
  • Lucy Purser