Thai Pham memorial DIGS game this Sunday

10717653_10204913335570763_1402839470_nTHIS Sunday sees the inaugural Thai Pham Memorial Shield match take place at Vicarage Fields, a 2pm kick off between Borussua Teeth and Ivory Toast.

Former Teeth player Thai Pham sadly lost his life over the summer in a freak swimming accident whilst visiting family in America. As a mark of respect it was decided that the match to open the Digs League season would be played in his honour, between his team and their arch-rivals Ivory Toast.

In their league meeting last year the sides played out a 4-4 draw in front of a capacity crowd at Blaendolau, with around 80 spectators watching the game. Borussia Teeth battled back from 3-0 down at half time to draw level before both sides scored in stoppage time in the most dramatic match of the season, which also produced 13 yellow cards.

Before kick off on Sunday there will be a minute’s silence to remember Thai, followed by what promises to be an entertaining game.

In anticipation of the game Borussia Teeth manager Rory McElhinney was level headed, saying “It should be a good game but the most important thing is to celebrate Thai’s life.”

BYT have also got themselves a new kit, and McElhinney added:

“We have [switched from yellow and] adopted blue and white colours with the same badge as last year, only tweaking the colours to match the kit, and thanks to Andy Holden we have a brilliant tribute to Thai below it.”

Ivory Toast manager Jed Woodcock added:

“I’m definitely looking forward to it. At the moment it’s touch and go whether I’ll play or not because I’m carrying an injury, but the game should be very competitive and is our first chance to compete for silverware this season. I think it’s great that we’ve managed to arrange this game in memory of Thai.”

Borussia Teeth squad: Peter Potts, Richard Wagstaff, Andy Holden, Joe Baker, Jack Lloyd, Calum Davidson, Nat Greenwood, Ashley Smith, Jesse Hoff, Ansu Lebbie, Francis Prior, Adam Ellis, Philip Leavy, Tom Good, Rory McElhinney, Jono Williams, Sam Davies, Chris Lloyd, Tomer Liran, Lefteris Tsiotas.

Ivory Toast Squad: Jed Woodcock, Joe Proctor, Matthew Webb, Matt Soanes, Matt Dye, Matt Alexander, Matthew Webber, Fred Brown, Phil Kirby, Alex Brown, Ashley Measures, Jamil Oriola, Chris Schwarz, Vincent Lim, Azir Arshad, Harish, Nazarul Mubin, Jefferson Auteliano, Guilherme Salles, James Smith, Jack Evans, Gavin Clarke, Will James.