Tarannau Cheerleaders win Sports Club of the Year

The cheer team with the trophy

The  Tarannua Cheerleaders after one of their wins

THE TARANNAU Cheerleaders have capped off a great year by securing the Club of the Year award at the annual Sports Awards, held on Wednesday night (9th).

The awards, held at Brynodyn, were well attended and the cheerleaders took home the award following wins at some of Europe’s biggest University competitions. In addition to their successes, the club was praised for forging strong links with the local community and raising over £350 for the Bronglais Hospital children’s ward.

The fencing club were named the Most Improved club of the year, having drastically improved their status within the Union over the last year. Activities Officer Liv Prewett praised them for their financial successes having increased the wealth of the society to the tune of £2500 from a starting point of only 92 pence.

It was a great year for Team Aber’s Rugby Union teams with the men winning the title of Varsity Team of the Year and the women winning the title of BUCS team of the year.

The Men’s Rugby Union team won the award after a strong showing against Bangor, in which the team won 22-3 at the Aber Town Rugby Club. The women won BUCS team of the year after having won the BUCS Cup this season.

In a new award this year, the Harriers and Triathlon club were awarded the RAG Award for excellence in fundraising following their successful 24 hour ‘campus mile’ which covered over 600 miles.

ColoursIn the individual awards, Men’s Rugby Union captain Matt Spicer won Sports Personality of the Year. Spicer has turned in great performances this year but secured the award for going above and beyond in his support of other teams. Prewett praised him for “epitomising the Team Aber spirit.”

Curtis Williston was named as Sports Person of the Year for outstanding performance in his chosen sport of American Football. Williston has represented the Team GB student team this year.

The Gwyn Evans Trophy, which is awarded to someone who is dedicated to a particular club and is a person to turn to within that club, was given to Danielle Bodnieks, who has excelled within the Showdance team this year.

Rebecca Callan was awarded the Mary Anne Trophy, given to someone who has been dedicated to administration and planning within their club. Callan was praised for not only dedication to the Aber Archers but to other clubs as well.

Many players were also awarded University Colours. See below for a full list of them and the winners and runners up.

Sports Club of the Year

Winner: Tarannau Cheerleaders

2nd place: Netball

3rd place: Badminton

Most Improved Club of the Year

Winner: Fencing

2nd place: Women’s Football

3rd place: Lacrosse

BUCS Team of the Year

Winner: Women’s Rugby Union

2nd place: Women’s Hockey

3rd place: Men’s Hockey

Varsity Team of the Year

Winner: Men’s Rugby Union

2nd place: Rugby League

3rd place: Swimming

Sports Personality of the Year

Winner: Matt Spicer

2nd place: Jo Woolley

3rd place: Maisie Home

Sports Person of the Year

Winner: Curtis Williston

2nd place: Rhys Morgan

3rd place: Charlotte Holmes

Gwyn Evans Trophy

Winner: Danielle Bodnieks

2nd place: Kieran Edwards

3rd place: Jennifer Goffin

Mary Anne Trophy

Winner: Rebecca Callan

2nd place: Emily Magnus

3rd place: Rebecca Pearce

University Colours

Charlotte Holmes, Rhys Morgan, Curtis Williston, Matt Spicer, Jennifer Goffin, Kieran Edwards, Maisie Home, Rebecca Callan, Jade Skinner, Jo Woolley, Mike Jones, Sophie McGill, Joshua Tumbridge, Aaron Shaw, Amy Johnson, Dafydd Jonathan, Lauren Anderson, Nichola Martin, Jon Aldridge, Louisa Gomes Munro