Aberystwyth Students’ Union scoops up two NUS Wales awards

ABERYSTWYTH University Students’ Union (AUSU) won two out of a possible three awards they were nominated for in the NUS Wales awards last night.

Despite losing out on the Higher Education Students’ Union of the Year Award to Bangor University SU, AUSU came away with both the Officer Team of the Year and Campaign of the Year Awards at the annual NUS Wales Awards Dinner, which took place on Wednesday 26th March at Pierhead, Cardiff.

AUSU President Ioan Rhys Evans collecting one of the awards along with Education Officer Grace Burton

AUSU President Ioan Rhys Evans collecting one of the awards along with Education Officer Grace Burton

Currently in their third year, the NUS Wales Awards recognise students, student officers, Students’ Unions, and University staff for a wide range of skills and successes from across the student movement. This is AUSU’s most successful year yet, and the second year running that Laura Dickens has won the Campaign of the Year Award.

Dickens’ continued Housing Campaign was commended in the Houses of Parliament, and has led to a ‘Model Contract’ being developed with Ceredigion County Council and a commitment from the Welsh Assembly to run a full consultation on private sector accommodation in Wales, focusing on the cost and quality for students.

Displaying her delight, Dickens commented: “I am exceptionally pleased to have won Campaign of the Year, and this is a really good note to end my two years at the Union on. I am so pleased that we have been able to pave the way for future improvements to private sector accommodation, for not just our students, but for students throughout Wales”.

The Officer Team of the Year Award recognised the impacts generated by the AUSU for the student body, including how the officers worked together on any outstanding projects or campaigns they have developed.  AUSU President Ioan Rhys Evans commented: “I’m delighted to accept this award on behalf of the Officer Team at Aberystwyth. We have worked hard and with great support from our fantastic staff, have transformed AberSU to have a top team in just 12 months!”

Mark Williams MP took to Twitter to voice his support, tweeting “Congratulations to @UMaberSU @LauraDickens90 on winning, officer team of the year & campaign of the year. Great work!”

Winners of NUS Wales Awards are automatically shortlisted for the UK-wide NUS Awards which take place in July.