University announce new staff promotions following Times Higher Ed win

Photo - Tomos Nolan

Photo – Tomos Nolan

ABERYSTWYTH University have announced several promotions following their success at the Times Higher Education awards last night.

In an email sent out this evening (29th) the Vice-Chancellor, April McMahon, congratulated individual members of academic staff on their promotions to Senior Lecturer, Reader or Professor.

The Vice-Chancellor wrote: “These promotions are based on outstanding contributions in research, teaching and leadership, including public engagement and business engagement”.

The aforementioned positions are highly sought after at academic institutions and require years of extensive and specialised research. Thirteen members of academic staff have been promoted to Senior Lecturer and a total of eleven to the post of Reader.

Seven academics in the Institute of History, Geography and Politics received promotions to Senior Lecturer or Reader: the Institute for Law, Criminology, Management and Information Sciences received five as well as the Institute of Literature, Language and Creative Arts. The Institute for Maths, Physics and Computer Science received three and the Institute for Human Sciences received one.

Five professorships were awarded to the following academic staff members:

Dr Alun Hubbard – Department of Geography and Earth Sciences

Dr Luis Mur – Institute of Biological, Environmental and Rural Sciences

Dr Elin Haf Gruffydd Jones – Department of Theatre, Film and Television Studies

Dr Malcolm Thomas – School of Education and Life Long Learning

Dr Martyn Powell – Department of History and Welsh History

Professor McMahon added, “I would particularly like to thank everyone who mentored applicants in this year’s round. A number of mentors had themselves been promoted only recently, and I am grateful to them for wanting to contribute to the process this year – with conspicuous success in terms of the quality of applications.”