Students’ Union elections candidates announced

Aberystwyth University Students' UnionNOMINATIONS for the Students’ Union Elections have closed.

From the 30th September, potential candidates could submit their manifestos, up until noon today (11th October).

In total, there are 10 Executive Officer positions as well as Halls and Community Representatives and NUS Delegates. The ten part-time officer positions are performed by students alongside their studies. These roles are:

  • Sustainability & Ethics 
  • Union Chairperson
  • Welsh Language
  • Womens’
  • LGBT+
  • BME Officer
  • Disabled Students’
  • Postgrad Students’
  • Mature Students’
  • International Students’

The full list of candidates was published on the Students’ Union’s website and can be found below. As well as the nominations, each post will have the option to Re-Open Nominations.

Sustainability & Ethics Officer

Simon Sardeson-Coe

Paul Sharpe

Emily Strub


Union Chairperson

Sean Anderson

Ebenezer Daniels

Jacob Ellis

Richard Fulloway

Elaine Lee

Michael Lockwood

Craig Price


Welsh Language Officer

Eiri Sion


Womens’ Officer

Lorraine Bainbridge

Jessica Close

Fahmeda Rana


LGBT+ Officer

Chris Parry


BME Officer

Pavill Ruangvichatron


Disabled Students’ Officer

Matt Harvey

Joe Martin

Fahreen Syeda


Postgraduate Students’ Officer

Ellie McCook


International Students’ Officer

Tina Becker

Auzee Rosmadee

Stephanie Schultz


Community Representatives

Sam Hounsell

Daniel Naughton

Harry Taylor

William Thomas


The role of Mature Students’ Officer had no nominations.

There is also a representative for each Halls of Residence. The role of representative for Alexandra Halls, Brynderw, Cwrt Mawr and Seafront Residences had no nominations. The other positions are as follows, and also will include the option to re-open nominations:


Steve Parkinson



Charlotte Raftery



Christopher Malton

Helen Willett


Pentre Jane Morgan

Shaun Bailey

Jorge Monteiro

John Morgan



Vanessa Catterall

Shubika Madaan



Rhiannon Edmunds

James Page

Nicole Scott


The NUS Wales Zone Conference Delegates are elected and will represent Aberystwyth Students to the conference early next year. The candidates are as follows (and will include an option to Re-Open Nominations)

Laura Dickens

Joshua James

Bridie Sedgebeer


The full list of candidates and their manifestos, as well as further information about the elections process can be found on the Union website.

Voting will take place on 23rd and 24th October, via the Students’ Union’s online voting system. Further details will be released closer to the time. 

Aber Student Media’s regulation on coverage of the Elections is available on our website. In conjunction with this regulation, Harry Taylor and any members of his campaign team that are part of Aber Student Media will not be participating in any coverage of the Elections.