University appoints Institute Directors

Aberystwyth_identifier (1)THE DIRECTORS of the new University Institutes, which will replace the current departmental model, have been announced by Vice-Chancellor Professor April McMahon.

The new Institutes will form a major part of the five-year Strategic Plan which was implemented in the beginning of this academic year, and will come into effect from 1st August 2013.

The new interdisciplinary Institutes were created to “strengthen the coordination of activities across the University’s departments, centres and research units; develop high-level leadership opportunities; permit the devolution of budgets and decision-making; and allow for a common set of expectations in services and support across the University”.

Joining the existing posts in the Institute of Biological, Environmental and Rural Sciences (Professor Wayne Powell) and the Institute of Human Sciences (Professor Kate Bullen) are;

  • IMAPS and Computer Science – Professor Qiang Shen (currently Head of the Department of Computer Science)
  • IGES, International Politics, History and Welsh History – Professor Neil Glasser (currently Dean of the Faculty of Science)
  • Law and Criminology, School of Management and Business and Department of Information Studies – Professor Andy Henley
  • Theatre, Film and Television Studies, English and Creative Writing, the School of Art, Welsh, the Arts Centre, European Languages and the Music Centre – Professor Sarah Prescott
  • School of Education and Lifelong Learning, Centre for the Development of Staff and Academic Practice, Graduate Centre, the International English Centre and Student Learning Support – Professor Tim Woods (currently Dean of the Faculty of Arts)

The Institute Directors will be supported by Institute Managers, who will be appointed later this month.

Commenting on the appointments, Prof. McMahon said “I am sure you will join me in congratulating our new Institute Directors and that, like me, you will look forward to working with them in their new roles.”